When Do I Have to Pay My Employees Overtime?

Employers in California are subject to federal and state labor laws. You may have to pay your employees overtime if they work longer than a standard work week, but only if they are non-exempt. Salaried employees are exempt from overtime requirements. If you’re unsure of whether your employees are exempt or not, a lawyer can do a thorough evaluation for you.

If you do have non-exempt, hourly employees, then you must pay them overtime for hours worked above 40 hours in a week. California law establishes additional overtime requirements. Employees are entitled to overtime pay for a work day that extends longer than eight hours, even if they don’t work more than 40 hours during the week. Working longer than 12 hours in one day requires employees to receive double overtime pay.

For personally tailored labor law guidance in Concord, CA, you can rely on The Law Offices of Jon Webster. Call (925) 609-7600 to request an appointment with our lawyer.

Categories: Business Law

Comments

No Comments Posted